Unpredictable Experiences: Living Unbelievably

Keri Tietjen Smith
7 min readJun 22, 2023

The Catalyst

“You have chosen a different path.” I kept saying to myself, as I frustratedly packed the final items in my ridiculously large suitcases. I was totally unsure what I was doing at this juncture of my life. But at least I was feeling confident in the familiarity of that feeling, as no one else I knew, really did either.

It wasn’t my first rodeo with leaving the States on a grand adventure.

I’d spent the last 5 years on a global mission to recapture the spent years of my 20s and half of my 30s, raising children and sacrificing the dreams, goals and ambitions I’d had to support my (now) ex-husband, an Army Sniper.

Yes, I grew through those experiences, and it’s hard to regret the valuable lessons that they brought, though, during some of those times, I would’ve traded anything to not feel the pain I went through.

After 12 years of marriage, which I thought was as stable as could be expected, it all suddenly came to a screeching halt with a text message, of all things.

After those 12 years living the Army life, two year-long deployments to Iraq, countless months away in the field for training, two grueling attempts at Special Forces Selection, and schools to bolster his credentials, my husband was selected to attend Army Recruiting school, and we had been rewarded with a posting in San Francisco.

--

--

Keri Tietjen Smith

The Future of AI in HR & Talent Acquisition Innovator and Thought-Leader, Travel, Non-Fiction, Featured in NBC, CBS, and writer for multiple publications.